Running out of time

My first long distance race is in 2 days and I’m trying very hard not to let myself get super nervous. The only thing that’s really bugging me is whether I’ve trained enough. My speed training has been next to nothing and I didn’t even realize that I don’t have a goal pace in mind. YIKES.

 

Just finishing is the top priority I guess. I ran 3 miles yesterday with strength work and am going to do a very slow 2 today. And then my legs get a small break and I begin the waiting game. BOO, waiting games are the worst. Good news for Sunday though.

Alas, PERFECT running weather. Now just hoping Mother Nature doesn’t decide to change her mind at the last second!
This post isn’t very picture heavy. It’s more like me spewing out randomness. You know, like Max yelling at us that he deserves to have a spot at the dinner table

Dog, what are you doing? You don’t even have an silverware.

He wasn’t happy with the decline of his request.

SOMEONE has a bit of a bad temper.

So he just decided to be his own man and follow his own rules.

…what a jerk :D

 

Also, I made it look like I stuck my hand in a blender…because I have absolutely nothing better to do with my time.

Not too shabby eh? I think I’ve officially perfected the art of making regular ole’ chocolate look like blood

 

Yes, I AM proud of such a fact.

 

And now, a word to the masses. Know what you’re doing before putting Kale in a smoothie.

I'm in LOVE with the color

In the mix:

  • Maybe 2 cups Kale?
  • Frozen mango
  • Agave nectar
  • Vanilla protein powder (almost time to restock!)
  • A bit of almond butter
  • Mango Chobani

Children be warned, Kale is not a leafy green to mess with. The taste is STRONG and in no way comparable to the subtlety of spinach. That prominent iron-esq. bite is tricky to mask, even with the addition of other strong flavored ingredients. Although interesting (and somewhat unappetizing) at first I quickly developed an actual like for the earthiness and am probably going to have another one later today.

 

I usual tell others to try everything once but I do not recommend this for people….well, except myself ;)

 

Last thing, check out what just happened to make it’s way onto my HM playlist.

I guess it makes sense. It seems most appropriate for a race taking place in SEASIDE HEIGHTS, NEW JERSEY.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Running out of time

  1. I am glad you feel better!!! Please comment and tell me how you did! I am sure you are going to rock it! Don’t listen to that silly little negative voice in your head. You can and will do it. I personally love to do the 8 -10 min run 2 min walk. When I do that I always!!! time better by like 8 minutes compared to when I only run.
    Remember you will rock it! Have a great time and show us your medal!!!!

    If you are up for it I would love for you to do a quest post! If you are interested email me at 1mileatatimeblog@gmail.com

    cheers
    diana

Leave a Reply

