Top O’ the morning to ya!

It’s St. Patrick’s day! The day to be as Irish as possible, drink some green beer and just be merry. I’m heading into NYC for what started out as museum hopping but has somehow turned into indulging in the parade as well. Needless to say, the camera is all charged and ready to go. I’m 21 and I can tell you right now that if I can find some green beer I will definitely be buying one. Um, tis the season! Hahahaha.

What better way to start off my favorite holidays than with some GREEN pancakes! I promised my niece last night that I would make them for her (and Shan as well), hence the chocolate chips that are scattered about. I’ve seen many bloggers use spinach in order to achieve the glorious emerald color so naturally I wanted to follow in their footsteps. Alas, I didn’t have enough time to go buy any so unfortunately food coloring was what had to be used instead. I mean, I got the color but there’s just something about having hidden nutrition in pancakes…. oh well, there’s always next time!

Once I made the chocolate ones, I saved some batter to make my own. In a vague attempt to pimp my pancakes I took an apple to our handy-dandy gratter ended up with about 3/4 of a cup of shredded fun. I threw that into the green batter, along with about 2 tsp of cinnamon. Threw em on our OLD ass grittle and a couple minutes later…..

Mmmmm, shmexy! I topped my apple creations with a couple cut up strawberries and a tbsp of almond butter that I heated up in the microwave (for maximum spread-ability!) They came out very delicious and very filling… perfect to keep me fueled while roaming through the city!

An entire St. Patty’s day post will be up probably later tonight so until then….. have  a fantastically green day everyone! =D

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

