Chow down but make it quick

So I woke up this morning and thought to myself, “I feel like watching TV while I eat my oats”…. so that’s what I did. Expecting there to be nothing on, I flipped through the channels and just as I was about to give up hope, I spotted it.

True Life: I’m a competitive eater.

SCORE.

I suppose that because of my obsession with food in general, competitive eating truly fascinates me to no end. I mean, how could you not be the least bit intrigued when you see people like this

Like this

(Tim “Eater X” Janus is on the right, he was one of the people being followed on the True Life episode, I find him very attractive, don’t judge me)

And like this

(“THAT’S a competitive eater?!?!”)

OK, so maybe instead of being intrigued, everyone just found it to be disgusting. Believe me though, I’m the first to admit that the concept itself isn’t something I entirely appreciate. However, there’s just something about it. In the Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest in 2009, Joey Chestnut ate 68 hot dogs in 12 minutes.

Yes, 68  whole hot dogs……

And that’s just for hot dogs. There is a contest and a record held for damn near every food imaginable. People legit train to enter the contests by doing stuff like stretching out their stomachs with lettuce and consuming pounds upon pounds of food in “preparation”. It’s honestly incredible what they’re able to accomplish. I don’t really have a SET reason why but it’s my secret (or, not-so-secret) obsession. Eat on, eat on!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Chow down but make it quick

  1. Kat

    When I saw the last picture, I sang, ” KO BA YA SHIIIIII”
    yeah, he has a song.

Leave a Reply

