Let the creation begin.

I didn’t even bother checking the date of the my previous entry because something tells me that I’ll be disappointed with myself if I do. Let’s go into this with a positive mindset then, ya hear?

So one of my goals for this summer is to bake/create as many dessert associated things as I can. Although I adore cooking, I’m a dessert kind of girl and it’s definitely something I’m more passionate about. Because of this, I have hereby dubbed the summer

EPICSUMMEROFTHEPASTRYARTS2010

(and yes, it has to be in all caps and with no spaces!)

I’ve started off with things such as rainbow cupcakes and pancakes but you know, it was time to step outside of the box! TWO major creations have taken place thus far and both were first time attempts that came out quite well. The creations:

  • Red velvet cheesecake cupcakes (in a team effort with Miss Danielle!)
  • Homemade cannolis (with frying help from Chubby Chubby AKA my dad)

Let’s start with the red velvet cheesecake. In one word, the idea of such a creation is HEAVENLY. It was Danielle’s idea and of course I’m always down for a challenge. Turns out, not a lot of red velvet cheesecake cupcake recipes exist. What we ended up doing was sort of winging it and using a legit cake recipes and turning it into cupcake forms!

Hard at work crushing the fake oreos for the mini-crusts!

Not too shabby of a turn out. And yes, they’re not RED red but to be honest, the recipe called for an ENTIRE bottle of red food coloring. That stuff is expensive so we decided that pink is a pretty enough color 😀

As Jory Caron of Is it a Good Idea to Microwave This? would say… Safety is our number one concern!

Took them out, they looked fine at first but then… they sank. WONK. I still have yet to figure out why exactly these craters came to exist. Maybe it was the cake to cupcake change? Nevertheless, we went right on creating the homemade cheesecake frosting and finishing our project.

Tadaaaaa! The ending results don’t look too shabby if I do say so myself. As for taste, there’s definitely some kinks that will be taken care of upon the next attempt. Don’t get me wrong, they tasted absolutely INCREDIBLE what with their cheesecake flavor and the hints of chocolate. However, a few things to consider for next time:

  • The oreo crust. It made the bottoms of the cupcakes SUPER oily, like to the point of getting our hands greasy just by holding them. Personally, I think the crust could be omitted altogether.
  • The frosting. Came out beautifully and was the perfect consistency but there was just too much of it! We ended up piling it on heavy for some of the cupcakes and acted like hooligans and ate it straight out of the piping bag. 😉
  • The mystery sinking! That’s just going to take some Google work!

And there you have it. First major baking quest conquered and was a good solid success! Next post will be the entire cannoli recap as well as the recipe for the cupcakes!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

