The challenge begins!

Hola people of the bloggy world! Exercise madness has somehow encased my life and I have several things to say on the matter.

FIOS TV is pretty epic. Unlike Optimum, that didn’t offer a very large selection of fitness programs, FIOS has, well, A LOT. We’re talking at leat 10 categories of different programs that vary from abs specific to all over fat burning to yoga to pilates! The possibilities are seriously endless and I’ve made a new challenge for myself to celebrate said new possibilities!

My challenge: Do a different workout routine at least 5 times a week and see what these different trainers have to offer me!

 

So far I’ve done three workouts… one of them being Terry Simpson so that doesn’t count. However, the two that I HAVE done were major ass-kickers (literally!)

1) Rock Hard Body by Jake: Xtreme… program taught by Steve Maresca.

(He’s buff and he’s bald… obviously he means business)

Mean business he did. I was absolutely DRENCHED in sweat by the time I was finished with this workout. This guy put me through 45 straight minutes of NO MERCY. Particularly there was an abundance of squats (hence why my bootay was hurtin’ the other day!), lunges and jumps/lifting that involved holding weights while you did them. The rest time was maybe 10 seconds per circuit and needless to say, my heartrate never had a chance to drop. It was a killer but I felt so warrior-like after it!

2) 30 Day Shred with Jillian Michaels

Good ole’ Jillian, you are truly a God. I’ve heard reviews upon reviews for this workout and when I spotted the “Jillian Michaels” section on the FIOS, I had to do it. Once she appeared on the screen I already knew I was in for a doozy. In comparison to the previous workout, Jillian wins. Although it wasn’t nearly as intense (or as long, only being a half hour), the moves were more targets and I could feel exactly which muscles I was working. Not to mention the workout was broken up into segments of strength, then cardio, the abs, then repeat; personally, I prefered it.

And that’s all for now. I’m actually looking REALLY forward to trying something new tomorrow but chances are it’s going to be a short 10 minute one if that… this girl hasn’t run in 3 days and my leggys are itching for some pavement! 😀

Oh hey food, what’s up? THIS was my dinner from the other night and it was absolutely amazing. In the bowl was a veggie stir-fry with a balsalmic vinegar. The mix included:

  • Spinach
  • Corn
  • Yellow peppers
  • Red peppers
  • Broccoli
  • Onions

Let me tell you, when I cooked all the veggies together with the balsamic (and some salt and pepper!), they soaked in the vinegar and it was literally out of this world. I’m actually planning on making this again tonight because I loved it THAT much. And naturally you can’t go wrong with a baked sweet potato with sunflower butter on the side! DEFINITELY a top 10 dinner, by far!

Writing about food has made me quite hungry…. sounds like it’s dinner time! Adios blogland! ❤

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The challenge begins!

  1. Hey! Yo! Wha’sup?!?! Here is a free workout from Tony Horton, the dude who created P90X. No strings, free. On my blog. If you like it, or see some funky interest in my little ramblings, subscribe! I have had the good fortune to meet Jillian and not only is she a great and beautiful person, but dude, she is soooo short! Like 5’2″ short… There is a pic in my older blogs of me and her. Have a read! (I love your writing style! Upbeat and fun!!!)
    http://roninsherpa.wordpress.com/2010/06/24/here-is-a-free-workout-for-you-with-tony-horton-the-creator-of-p90x-free/

Leave a Reply

