“Can I please just be James Earl Jones?”

There’s nothing like a party on a farm to make you realize how lovely life really is. Being able to see my Rider girls always brings me so much joy and when you add swimming, Apples to Apples, animals, alcohol and FOOD, it’s a winner.

Upon arrival, we all immediately headed into the pool and spent a good 2 or 3 hours there and got out mainly because dinner was not too long after that. Sam’s mom is an AMAZING cook and truly spoils us whenever we visit there. On the menu? PIZZAAAAAAAA!

Mmmm, homemade pizza with mushrooms and onions. SO GOOD. The crust was amazingly thin too which I absolutely loved. I had two slices of pizza and more than enough chips 😉

Another reason why Sam’s mom is amazing? Check out the pizza she especially made for Amelia!

Perfect looking, is it not? Amelia said it was awesome so YAY for pizza all around!

We all sat around outside for a while after, chatting and laughing and chatting and laughing some more and then, dessert!

Ice cream parfaits with strawberries and chocolate syrup? YES PLEASE. Haha and see that girl in the back? That’s Jen and she’s really pretty, just saying!

Along with that, Amelia made gluten free thin mints!

Haha, OK so they weren’t exactly “thin” but they were a pure chocolate indulgence. The hint of mint wasn’t at all overpowering and the layer of chocolate around it was SO GOOD. Fabulously done Miss Amelia!

I also wanted to take part in the bringing of a dessert and, after checking to make sure peanut butter got a thumbs up, quickly threw together some gluten free peanut butter chocolate chip cookies. No picture (WHY DO I ALWAYS SO THAT?) but I think they turned out quite well. Granted, they were rather flat but I’m glad with how they tasted. Not overwhelmingly peanut butter infused and they tasted more like regular chocolate chip cookie if anything. Everyone seemed to like them so I’d call that a success!

The night continued and I’ll let the pictures do some of the talking (typing?) for me.

The “What’s On My Head?” game is a staple at all our functions now. Beer! How appropriate.

The stress of the game was too much for them.

You wanna talk appropriate? Doesn’t get more than this.

We all ended up staying awake until 5 (HARDCORE!) and were in need of some breakfast….. and once again, we were spoiled.

Homemade potato wedges!

PO-TA-TOES. Boil em, mash em, stick em in a stew!

A Waldorf salad! I’m not sure exactly how she made it but there were definitely apples, carrots, pecans, grapes, celery (I took no part in eating them) and yogurt. I would love to try making this in the near future!

We were also treated to omelets!! I had mine with sharp cheddar, mushrooms and onions. Everything was so frickin’ good I can’t even begin to tell you. This is my plate and I may or may not have munched on a few more unpictured potato wedges!

After being filled to the brim with delicious food stuffs, the bunch of us went back into the pool for a while until it was time to go home. Those goodbyes were full of huggies and many thank yous to Sam’s mom. I had an absolutely fantastic time and our next Rider togetherness function is Amelia’s birthday party in a couple weeks! The fun times just keep on rollin’! 😀

P.S. I was pleasantly informed yesterday that Sam’s sister is a fellow foodie and  fan of the blog; that made my heart feel warm and fuzzy! Hi Jen Hiiiiiiiiii!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to ““Can I please just be James Earl Jones?”

  1. kat

    i loved this post! the potatoes .gif made me LAUGH lemme tell you. that girl jen certainly IS pretty! and i didnt get to try amelias cookies cause i was too busy eating half the pan of yours 😦 stupid kat.

  2. Pingback: Ghosts and witches have never looked so good. « BopBopBopKeribop

Leave a Reply

