Oh yes, I’m going Greek.

So I didn’t exactly put the post up last night… no worries though, I am here to save the day!

I know everyone (all 6 of you!) have been anxiously wondering about the Melomakarona…. and even if you weren’t wondering, I’m going to tell you about them anyway 😀

Let’s start from the beginning, shall we?

Last week I went out to eat with Liz at her workplace, the fabulous and absolutely delicious Greek City. Words cannot describe how much I love Greek food, it’s my “If you had to eat only one type of food for the rest of my life what would you eat?” food. We dined on 5 different plates which included grilled (!!!) calamari, an Athena salad, hummus and some other things, two of which I forgot the names of and all of which I forgot to take a picture of. We were full and content but still decided to indulge in cappuccinos. When our drinks were brought to the table there were cookies alongside…. and the rest is history.

Melomakarona is a type of Greek dessert cookie that have a very strong honey and walnut flavor to them. The one from Greek City was so incredible that I had actually been going around telling people about it and basically thinking about it nonstop.

I couldn’t go on just dreaming about them, it was time TO BAKE.

(Disregard the KALE CHIPS recipes chillin’ on the bottom… that’s for tomorrow’s post!)

I scoured the internet for a solid recipe but everything was giving me different variations. A lot of them wielded 60+ cookies and since this was my first time even attempting them, a smaller amount was in order. In the end, I just wrote down ingredients from each recipe and to be honest, I worked the rest of recipe around the 3 1/4 cups flour. As you can see, I made a bunch of changes before I settled down with something that I thought would work.

Mixing was easy. Dry ingredients in one bowl, wet in another, make an indentation in the dry and pour the wet in. Easy peasy. After everything was together, KNEAD!

Serena was my co-chef AKA she took pictures of me being lame and I let her pound the walnuts with a mallet 😉

Cute dough ball. Everything cooperated quite well!

Next I rolled small pieces into log-like shapes, pushing down to flatten them a little bit and then I baked them at 350 degrees for about 13 minutes. These guys baked quick!

Logggggg, Logggggg, it’s big, it’s heavy, it’s wood! It’s Loggggg, Logggggg, it’s better than bad, it’s good!

While the cookies were baking in the oven, I made the syrup which is basically what MAKES these so amazing. All it consisted of was sugar (brown and white), honey, water and some cinnamon. I let everything boil together on medium high for 3 minutes (making sure to stir!) and then the dunking began.

The cookies got to stay in the syrup bath for about a minute each and then were able to relax on a wire rack. They also received a facial of walnuts 😀

The end results?

Tadaaaaaa! Melomakaronas for all! I continously tasted them throughout the baking process and have these thoughts:

  • Mine did not come out like cookies but instead we more like biscuits. Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong a syrup covered biscuit. I knew they weren’t going to taste like the Greek City ones; I had prepared myself for it!
  • The logs bake quick and rise quick. Getting them fully covered in syrup was a bit challenging. Next time I’ll make them much smaller for easier dunkage.
  • The pan I used for the syrup was too big… big saucer pan = Keri having to spoon small amounts on top of every cookie!
  • I need to figure out how to make them more moist, they were a bit too dry for my taste personally. Maybe they need to soak longer?

All in all though, I really like how they came out. Melomakarona is very indulgent tasting so after one or two, it’s very easy to stop. Also, although they’re very calorie dense, nutrition-wise they’re not too shabby. They were made with orange juice, olive oil, no butter, no eggs and although I did use white flour, I think whole wheat would work just as well. The recipe will be up a couple of days so keep a lookout for that.

Anybody want one? I have plenty 😀

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Oh yes, I’m going Greek.

  1. Wanda

    Those look delicious!!!! Send me one! hehe

  2. Cate

    i saw them in the fridge the one day and i stole one …. i found them to be yumm-o… next day i come back to look for them and they were gone…. i was sad…. then next day they were back!!! so i stole another!
    Good job girl!

  3. Pingback: ….hello? | BopBopBopKeribop

Leave a Reply

