Like wine, fries can cure anything

Wonky days I tell you. Wonky, wonky, wonky days. Random stuff happens but there’s always a few silver lining in the clouds of anti-ha biskyness.

It was one of those days that I needed to sweat out some emotion… so I headed into the 95 degree heat and ran 4 miles. Once again, running made me feel better about life and even though I looked like I had just jumped into a pool, it’s always worth it!

Showered and refueled!

See? I use the Hello Kitty plate whenever I get the opportunity!

I expanded my horizons of the yogurt/AB god mixture and threw it on top of a piece of rye bread. I also had blueberries, grapes, raisins and a few walnuts. I felt very vegetarian eating this for some reason. Hmmm.

Made some lists, thought about packing and eventually decided to make a mini-bag of popcorn a couple hours later. Yeah…no.

I burnt it. Wah.

However, my life was brought back when I went on Facebook and saw Amelia post a link to a post from Angela at Oh She Glows. I read through her posts and wondered why she wasn’t on my blog roll. Put her on it and decided to catch up on my blogs in general. As I was indulging in the life of The Fitnessista I saw that she had posted about nut-encrusted fries! Two Angela spottings in one day? This was a sign; I HAD to make my own nut-encrusted fries. They’re all over the blogworld and, what can I say, I wanted to get on that bandwagon and in a hurry!

I mixed together:

  • 1 tbsp AB
  •  2 tsp PB
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt

Sweet potatoes were my avaliable material so I used half of a super long fella and cut him into fry shapes. Threw them into the bowl and mixed everything until it was all good and coated! 

It’s been far too hot to turn the oven on so I used our toaster oven instead. As I was trying to place the fries neatly inside it, THIS occured:

I touched the oven for a MILISECOND and somehow got branded! It’s actually pretty “LOL” worthy but it hurts like a mofo.

However, like running in the heat, it was totally worth it.

Incredible. I cannot even describe how these fries were. They made my dinner and THEN SOME. With less than a week left before Rider, I need to recreate these at least two more times! The obsession has set in!

Along with the orgasmic fries of wonder, I had a salad of spinach and romaine with some balsalmic, a cup of cauliflower soup and some cut up carrots with hummus. Another vegetarian-esq. meal. In the end though, carnivore, vegetarian, vegan, it doesn’t really matter. Good food is good food! 

I’m off to make some banana softserve (frozen naners FTW!) and to drink some wine since I mentioned it in the post title. It’s 5 o’clock somewhere! 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Like wine, fries can cure anything

  1. So glad I could be of service! Angela is great, isn’t she? Those fries look yummy! Looks like we have a lot of foods we have to make when we get back to Rider. =)

    I hope you ran that burn under cold water.

Leave a Reply

