“Phoebe, I’m sorry, but I think Jacques Cousteau is dead.”

Thanksgiving break is over and done with. I’ve got a TON of pictures/awesome news to share so let’s get on it…….. less talk more rokk! πŸ˜€

(HardXcore)

I’ve noticed that my parents are definitely trying to be more healthy. YAY for them trying. Check out the T-giving eve dinner. Stir-fry!

Time to let it wok baby.

  • Red onion
  • Red pepper
  • Green pepper
  • Broccoli
  • Chicken pieces (cooked with a bit of EVOO)
  • A bag of frozen mixed veggies (baby corns & wata’ chestnuts!)

All together and topped with teriyake purchased from Target… the ONLY place to buy such products.

I bulked mine up with a pile of romaine lettuce about 1/2 cup brown rice. It was perfect in every way possible… pretty sure I’ll never go back to takeout Chinese food again. Converted!

 

Relax puzzle shaped ice cube, I’ll recap Thanksgiving. Jesus Bisky.

…drama queen.

 

2010 Thanksgiving at the LaForge house. Ready, steady, GO.

Instead of baking for five days straight I opted to make pumpkin pie instead. Never done it before but I tend to have a little much confidence in my baking skills.

Sure they look OK but this picture does not showcase the smoke pouring from the stove which then filled my kitchen. I blame the pie crust. I didn’t have enough time to make a homemade one. When I rolled it out into the dish there was a dough overflow (RHYME?!) and it ended up burning! Waaaaah. Burnt items make this little baker girl cry.

Actual taste? Stay tuned, the pies will be reappearing.

*********************

I peeled a bunch of potatoes.

 

I watched the unity of turkey and brownies… cooking together as one.

 

Instead of waiting to the point of wanting to chew my arm off, I ate some foodage

AB, rye bread, half a nana, apples. Whoop whoop!

 

I explained to my parents what “whippets” are. πŸ˜›

 

My sister and brother-in-law brought the party over AKA my nephew and an “some-assembly-required-cake”

Way to lick your nose there. Stay classy Otis.

Sometimes we watch dog shows on little TVs.

 

“I WASN’T SUPPOSED TO PUT BEEF IN THE TRIFLE!”Β  (Friends reference? Anyone?)

Cate actually asked me to take the picture twice because she didn’t like the way it first came out. Pretty or not… this was BANGIN’. Fudge cake, lite cool qwhip, sugar free chocolate pudding and Heath bar bits… be still my heart, I wish I had some right now.

 

Max is the best of all the helpers.

Always uninterested.

 

Stuffed mushrooms are a staple appetizer in our house. My mom makes ’em goooooood.

Restrained myself and only ate one. πŸ˜€

 

IT’S DINNER TIME! (spits water everywhere)

Quite a spread eh? As we were all sitting down Chubby Chubby asked me if I had taken a picture yet. Look at him beingΒ  a supportive bloggy daddy!

Our table had all the typical T-giving staples.

  • Turkey (20 pounder!)
  • Rolls
  • Corn
  • Veggies (asparagus, string beans, broccoli)
  • Sweet potato casserole
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Two kinds of stuffing
  • Rolls

Like I said, typical as typical can be!

My plate:

Naturally I went back for seconds. Derrrr. It’s all about pacing yourself!

 

Fast forward through more eating, wine drinking, laughing, table cleaning and my nephew deciding to pose as a rug.

LOL.

 

Oh, would you look at that? Dessert time.

Welcome back pie! Chubby Chubby tried to “hide” the burnt crust with whipped cream. Good effort guy, good effort.

The pie turned out to be a hit though! Despite the burnt-ness, the actual pumpkin pie was the exact consistency and taste that I wanted. Little bit of spice/sweet and ultra creamy. It wasn’t an epic fail after all.

 

I munched on some of that along with the TRIFLE (needs to be bolded, that’s how much I enjoyed it) and some coffeeeee.

It may or may not have had Kahlua in it…. I’ll never tell πŸ˜‰

 

And with full bellies and a general happiness, THAT was Thanksgiving. Complete success… totes worth being thankful for πŸ˜€

Hope you guys had fun!

 

ONE LAST SIDENOTE! I know this has been a uber long post but I’ll make this quick.

 

Take a wild guess at who murdered TEN MILES on Saturday morning?!?!

 

 

Yes. THIS girl. That’s who.

 

37 degrees was absolute PERFECTION. I’m most definitely a cold weather runner and it helped me achieve greatness.

No pain and I only stopped twice… once at mile 4 to fix my bandana and the second was at mile 6 to chomp down on a packet of Gushers (it was the only sugar source that was avaliable in my house but it totally worked!)

 

I kept no time and no pace… all I wanted was ten miles and I did it. I’ve officially run double digits!!! I feel a bug starting to itch at me… if you know what I mean.

 

Two words for you kids.

 

Half.Marathon.

 

πŸ˜€

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to ““Phoebe, I’m sorry, but I think Jacques Cousteau is dead.”

  1. Yay!!! 10 miles! You’re amazing. πŸ˜€

  2. Cate

    ITS DINNER TIME!

    yay for t-day blogs!!! ❀

Leave a Reply

