Tis the season…..for cliches apparently.

It’s only been about two days since I’ve arrived back home and it’s already been SUPER busy.

One thing I’ve already learned is that we’re on a veggie/fruit hiatus so-to-speak… you’ll be able to tell by my considerably nutritional slacking meals. I’ve got to get my butt to the supermarket ASAP. I can feel my body going into spinach withdrawal! 😛

Yesterday morning I was up at 5:50 (with ease!) and the mom and  conquered some Christmas shopping from 7 until about 9:30.

Er, yeah, sidenote… gum is not breakfast.

When we got back it was time to get creative. No matter what I decided to eat, THIS was all I was really concerned about

Peanut Butter & Co. was sent from heaven. I’m convinced. Although this has a much more subtle taste than it’s sibling (DCPB!) it’s still amazingly decadent tasting….and that’s saying something considering white chocolate is at the bottom of my favorite kinds of chocolate list!

I ended up making oatmeal.

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 1 tbsp walnuts
  • 2 tbsp plain Chobani
  • 2 tbsp frozen pomegranate seeds I found hidden in the freezer
  • 1 tbsp WCPB

Success!

When Christmas rolls around, every day becomes Cookie Friday. Yesterday I baked…and baked… and baked… and crocheted a hat.

Yeehaw!

First I made oatmeal chocolate chip cookies… from a pre-mixed bag. Meh. Totes not my scene (I’m a “from scratch” kinda girl!) but it was for Serena’s teacher so I just do what I’m told. Add butter and an egg, mix and bake.

They actually came out pretty good!

Next up were homemade chocolate chip cookies. I’ll let the picture speak for itself.

Ooh, baby baby!

I feel like I actually made 16 million of them.

COOKIE INVASION! I’m quite proud of myself for not licking any of the bowls and only having one of each. Will power, boo ya!

I took a break and then wondered about what to eat for linner (it was about 2:30 at this point)

As usual, not helpful. He thought it would be fun to lick the side of the deep fryer and then when I took him outside he wanted to play/eat the dirt. He’s lucky he’s cute.

I finally settled on some food.

English muffin with pizza flavored hummus and a slice of swiss cheese. Alongside I had some baby carrots and a few pickles. Let me tell you something. Pizza flavored hummus is AMAZING.

I can’t believe how good it is. Tastes.like.a.real.pizza. I kid you not. And with the cheese? Fantastically simple. I’m definitely going to be further experimenting with this new hummus discovery.

The next few hours included watching a bunch of Top Chef episodes, the creation of previously mentioned hat (next post!) and a dinner that would severly lacking so I didn’t even bother taking a picture of it (Sweet potato and a side salad with wheat germ, corn and balsalmic).

 

Then it was time for MOAR baking. Think you can handle it?!?

My personal favorites and cookies that are only made for Christmas. They’re called Philly Sprites and they might just be one of my favorite things on this planet.

The ingredient list only has about 8 things but it’s basically a sugar cookie with cream cheese, hence the Philly in the name! And with the use of our handy dandy cookie press, they get to become adorably Christmas appropriate shapes!

Sometimes I do use the bowl reminents to make cute hearts ❤

This morning, I wanted pancakes and there was JUST enough whole wheat flour to allow me such a desire.

The fruit hiatus compromised my usual techniques so I REALLY had to improvise.

Has anyone noticed the festive tablecloth yet?!?!

I threw a bunch of coconut into the batter and eventually found a container of packaged peaches ‘n pineapple to use for a topper. Yes I know they’re soaking in sugar juice water and yes I know that draining the juice doesn’t completely get rid of it… cut me some slack! For what it’s worth… these were REALLY good, especially when my favorite Chobani/AB combo is involved!

Coconut/pineapple pancakes = beachy breakfast in December?!

The comics section of the paper is my favorite backdrop. 😀

And that’s it. I’ve got more baking, more crocheting and some running that has to be taken care of. Enjoy your day everyone!

I may or may not have been wearing this hat the ENTIRE day yesterday.

Fa la la la la, la la la la…fool.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Tis the season…..for cliches apparently.

  1. Awh, everything looks so beautiful!!! Becca makes something like those Philly Sprites, but they’re French sugar cookies of some type and they’re literally my holiday staple for years now. Hahaha
    I can see that you were hella busy yesterday! Wow, thats a lot of damn cookies!
    Maxwell is so cuuuuute, but he’s a bad boy! Licking the deep fryer? Hahah

Leave a Reply

