Now YOU can too!

Hola everyone! I missed a day and realized that I’ve been sort of anti-internet lately for some reason. I’m SO behind on my blog reading/emails!

 

Not to mention I’m going back to Riderland in t-minus 5 DAYS.

 

I have A LOT of things to do. Maybe I should get started on that.

 

 

Maybe later.

 

 

Oatmeal. The breakfast of champions.

I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one who enjoys the crunch of cereal on top of oats. It’s a fantastic texture! In the bowl:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup water
  • Less than half of a REALLY ripe banana (the peel was black… and I ate it anyway…)
  • 1 tbsp flax seed
  • Bunch o’ cinnamon shakes
  • 1/2 cup vanilla Chobani
  • Half of a chopped apple
  • 1/3 multigrain Cheerios
  • 1/3 cup cinnamon Chex

That really seems like a lot of things. You never realize how many components go into something until you actually write them out. Crazaaaay!

 

Also, I think I have officially been un-traumatized from NYE…you know, not that my rum-fest with Nana didn’t already prove that.

Fancy white wine with a not-so-fancy sandwich/salad/soup dinner. Don’t judge me… I LIKE BEING FANCY SOMETIMES.

 

May not have been gourmet but it was still tasty. Turkey, ham, swiss, lettuce, tomato and hummus with romaine/cucumber/carrot/balsamic salad. And I think you can guess what’s in that bowl 🙂

 

Yesterday, oh yesterday, I finally did what I’ve been wanting to do for a VERY long time.

 

 

It all started with grandma.

 

 

Er, that sounds a little weird. Maybe a backstory isn’t exactly necessary. Pictures speak 1000 words anyway, right?

My grandmother gave us a bag of shelled peanuts. They’ve been sitting on our counter for a long time. I decided to give them a purpose in life.

I realized I’m pretty good at shelling peanuts. There was peanut debris everywhere but nevertheless, it worked. Anyone need their peanuts shelled? I’m open for business.

 

 

 

That sounded unnecessarily dirty. My bad.

 

 

….so anyway. Once the peanuts were good and shelled, they only yielded about a cup worth. It was then that I broke out some honey roasted goodness.

I told you that the LaForge family buys in bulk. Honey roasted peanuts are probably at the bottom of the healthy nut food chain but definitely one of my favorites.

 

The gang is all here and ready for business

Making nut butter is easy as 1, 2, 3! Simply places your nuts (HAAAAAA) in the food processor and start whirling!

 

The grinding takes you through a couple stages of consistency.

  1. First there’s the “It’s like, fine powder… is this really going to work?” stage. Keep whirling.
  2. Then there’s the “it’s starting to get kind of chunky” stage. Scrape the sides and keep whirling.
  3. The “it’s still chunky but I think the nuts are getting smoother” stage. Scrape again if you want and, (is this getting repetitious yet?) keep whirling.
  4. “OK, it’s definitely starting to become nut butter now! I can see it!” stage is next. Sorry kids, not quite there yet. Scrape and whirl. You know the drill.
  5. Then the “I think I’ve done it… I need to taste it right now!” stage. This is where it becomes a personal thing. You can stop here if you want it gritty and chunky.
  6. This is the final step, or the “No, I want this REALLY smooth just like real nut butter should be” stage. Whirl until you achieve your fantasy nut butter!
  7. Pat yourself on the back because……

You just made your own nut butter! Creamy, delicious and completely homemade!

 

I was fortunate enough to have a food processor but I believe that a standard blender or Magic Bullet would do the job just as well. I ended up not adding any sort of flavoring to it because it most certainly was flavorful enough on it’s own. However, that’s not to say that I won’t be getting creative with it!

 

Oh, don’t forget to store it so it keeps fresh for maximum enjoyability.

I didn’t mean for that to become a tutorial but it just kind of happened. That was actually quite fun to write!

 

And you know, If I had lots of money, I would honestly NEVER go back to buying nut butters ever again. I can only but imagine what homemade AB must taste like. Mmmmm, another reason why I need to find a good paying job.

 

…to fuel my nut butter obsession? Well, whatever motivates me I suppose!

😀

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Now YOU can too!

  1. I totally need to make homemade peanut and almond butter! You can shell my nuts for me! bahahahaha! =)

    good idea with the cereal on your oats! totally trying that! =)

  2. Yum!! Nut butter! Your pictures look really great!! 🙂

  3. I love your tutorial, it is SPOT on!

    I found a super old package of need-to-be-shelled peanuts the other day and got to work. The whole bag took me FOREVER to do, I watched a movie while I shelled to pass the time. There wasn’t enough peanuts to make nut butter, so I’ve just been snacking on them!

  4. Man all you bloggers that are making your own nut butters are tempting me!! Seriously, why not right? I just need to buy some nuts!

    I totally agree about the oatmeal list! I always fee like such a goof writing a long list of oatmeal ingredients on my blog, hahah! Its actually not weird though, just delicious 🙂

  5. I’ve wanted to try making my own nut butter for a while as well but if it didnt taste as good as my store bought I would be very sad. Haha – I cant go a day without peanut butter! Yours looks pretty delicious though.

  6. ahh your nut butter looks amazing!!!! so creamy and smooth- i am one jealous girl!

  7. Hey, I stumbled on your page while blog surfing and that nut butter looks awesome! I really need to stop being lazy and just make my own, but I don’t see that happening any time soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

