Go shorty, it [was] your birthday!

Upon uploading my most recent pictures only reemphasizes the guilt I feel for such intense blog neglect. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, worst.blog.mommy.ever.

 

For what it’s worth though, I’ve been pretty busy what with moving back to Rider and celebrating my birthday and all that good stuff.

 

Oh yes, by the by, I turned 22 this past Sunday and it was the BEST birthday I have had to date. Let’s do a bit of recapping!

 

Considering the fact that I was leaving for Rider on Saturday, my family celebrated my birthday on Friday night by going out to dinner. All day I was being asked, “So, where are we going for dinner?”

Because I am one of the most indecisive people to ever exist ever, we ended up happening was that we went to the same restaurant we to for my birthday two years ago! Furthermore, Nana suggested it… I couldn’t even think of it myself. Heh.

The Crow’s Nest is quaint place that’s most well-known for their seafood. Guess who didn’t get seafood…. this guy. It was all really expensive and I felt bad ordering it. Look at me being frugal even when I’m not paying for it.

 

The table enjoyed crusty bread and a plate of peppers/jalapenos/pickles while flipping through the menus.

I nibbled on a piece of the bread but it was REALLY crusty and at the point of being too hard to eat. It’s OK though, I ate a pickle to make up for it.

Pretty sure Nana groaned whenever I took my camera out 😉

 

Chubby Chubby always wants to get appetizers whenever we go out and Cate wanted onion rings. So, we got the stereotypical sampler platter of fried entities.

Mozzerella sticks, potato skins, chicken fingers and onion rings… like I said, the most typical of the typical. We have this joke that Cate and I never eat things like this in their entirety and instead cut everything into halves or pieces. I think it’s a good way to get a taste but not fill up before your actual dinner Although, I will say that I when I bit into the mozzerella stick I proceeded to immediately say, “Oh my GOD I forgot how good fried cheese is.”

 

 

Sidenote: I woke up the next morning with a stomach ache. Another fried food fail. Cripes.

 


For my dinner I ended up ordering a sandwich of pork and rapini (broccoli rabe!) on ciabatta bread.

I’ve never had broccoli rabe but I definitely enjoyed this cousin of my near and dear broccoli. Pretty sure it was cooked with garlic and that ended up working really well with the pork, which was perfectly tender. Also, I ate the fries. Normal, plain ole’ french fries. I’m trying to maintain the mentality that the world is not going to end just because I ate some fried potatoes. My only worry was making sure I had a good time… which I did, so mission accomplished.

 

Chubby had a good time to. He, unlike Nana, very much enjoys whenever I take my camera out. It gives him opportunities to do entertaining things.

Hahaha, someone was hungry! Those are actually the doggie bag plates… it was a lot of food!

 

We headed back home for dessert.

Yep, I made my own birthday cake. Nothing special though because I didn’t have time to plan out something special. Plain yellow cake with chocolate frosting and a giant pink sprinkle K on it.

Yes, I made a wish and no, I can’t tell you. This is a retake by the by (in case you can’t tell by the fact that my brother-in-law is CLEARLY not paying attention/he might be in the midst of eating something).

 

Chubby also contributed to the dessert fund. In enter, cherry chocolate brownies.

This has been a project for my father since Christmas. He’s scoured the internet for recipes and, over time, collected maraschino cherries, maraschino cherry juice, cherry concentrate and cherry pie filling. However, there was one thing he hadn’t yet acquired but desperately wanted.

Cherry extract. He wanted and he received and it turned his thumb red. But alas, he finally got to bake them…. and use his other Christmas present

Fancy brownie pan… just like on TV! It works really well surprisingly enough. All the brownies were cut to geometric perfection. Naturally, I was “roped” into tasting one.

With a tablespoon of extract in the recipe, the cherry flavor was VERY distinctive and although I like that tasted, it was a bit overpowering. We concluded that next time around the tablespoon shall be cut in half and there will be an addition of chocolate chips. Live and learn!

 

The next day included my last home breakfast… no more stove top oats! 😦

On top of the comic section and with the usual suspects:

  • 1/3 oats
  • 1/4 milk
  • 2/3 water
  • Cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup multigrain Cheerios
  • 1 tbsp Special K granola
  • 1 tsp WCPB
  • 1 tbsp homemade PB (!!)

You know what’s even worse?

 

I LEFT MY OATS AT HOME.

 

I don’t even want to talk about how mad I am about it. Change of subject, the paper thought it was my birthday already… that was a lovely surprise.

Hey thanks newspaper!

 

Unfortunately, pictures from my actual birthday are, er, nonexistent but there was CAKE and BLONDIES.

Roomie bought the cake and Amelia made the blondies. Both were deliciously amazing. Naturally!

 

Here’s a few key words to associate with January 23, 2011:

  • Irish boys
  • Dancing
  • Princess blankets
  • Mario Kart
  • Drink tickets
  • Pancakes
  • HankyPanky
  • Target
  • NFL
  • Mamma Mia/Mean Girls

 

Just to give you an idea anyway!

 

That’s all I’ve got to give at the moment. My dumb butt has to go do homework! I need to get it out of the way before I can do my official catching up within the blogworld. Also, I need to bang out ANOTHER post tomorrow. There’s already a TON of pictures that I’ve taken of Rider food… I’m falling behind!

 

Sending all my love from Rider U! 😀

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Go shorty, it [was] your birthday!

  1. Looks like you had a fun birthday! I always feel the same way about not getting anything too expensive when I eat with my family. The cake looks delicious, too! Happy belated birthday! 🙂

  2. Happy Belated Birthday!!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

  3. Happy Belated birthday!! Ahh fried cheese, sooo good! my favorite is bacon cheese fries, you know – the most fattening food america has to offer! 🙂

    All of your desserts look soo gooood 🙂

  4. ahh happy belated birthday!! looks like fun.. and cherry extract?? GNARLY!..
    YOU LEFT YOUR OATS.. oh my dear,,, i would cry…

  5. kat

    WHEEEEE 😀 😀 😀 this was so enjoyable!

  6. Happy belated bday!! Looks like it was delicious 🙂
    Ugh leaving the oats behind would make me SO frusturated… esp when they’re as good as yours always look!

  7. Awwww thank you for the wishes everyone! ❤

Leave a Reply

