Will run for doughnuts and burgers

It’s only been ONE day and I’m here again. Oh yeah, raise daaaaaa roof.

Ahem.

So, first and foremost, happy holidays! And by holidays I mean Happy National Running Day and Happy National Doughnut Day! My running celebration is a day late but I made up for it with a 4 mile run this afternoon.

As I was stretching by my car I had the pleasure of being honked at by a garbage man that drove past, hence the lackluster smile and weak thumb formation.

MusclesGlasses was not amused.

Either way, it was a lovely run and I’ve got a 6.2-er lined up for early tomorrow morning so yay for consistent running again!

 

Moving on. It’s a rather good thing that I didn’t post about my less-than-awesome doughnuts yesterday. Let’s talk doughnuts shall we? As you all know, I my niece received a doughnut maker for Christmas that I enjoyed playing with. Two days ago I was feeling doughnut frisky and decided playtime was overdue.

Result pictures first, talky talk after

Aesthetically, not appealing at all.

 

OH HOLD ON THAR JUST A MINUTE.

 

SIDENOTE: Long story short, I went to the local pawn shop with Chubby and bought myself a $55 digital camera. Still a Sony Cyber shot, just an older version. Again, this is temporary until I get some money rolling in and am able to buy a better camera. I’m content that I have a camera again though, it does the job…..THANK YOU PAWN SHOP!

 

Back to doughnuts. The resulting title for my creation “Whole Wheat Chocolate Cherry Sunflower Seed Doughnuts”. Taste wise, they were so-so. Whole Wheat flour is a tricky mistress and the flavor is very distinct and pretty hard to cover up.

I gave one to Liz and gave her a warning that they were mediocre at best. She, being the great friend she is, said it tasted good but the components were very separate from each other. Makes sense though. After a couple test runs I started adding everything into the batter hoping to mask the “healthy” that the doughnuts had. Even with cocoa powder, cherry extract, honey, chocolate covered sunflower seeds AND 4 Hersheys Kisses (LOL) it was still there!

The recipe has already been tweaked considerably so next time around I’m going to focus more on taste as opposed to nutritionally based. Not going to bother posting the recipe because I want to present something that I’m super proud of. Always room for improvement!

 

REVIEW TIME!

(Liz: “Don’t you love that I insist on you taking pictures of my food as well?”)

I rarely drink Frappuccinos, VERY rarely. However, when Liz mentioned her new obsession that was the Mocha Coconut Frappuccino from Starbucks, I had to give in. Coconut is one of my favorite things on earth and gotta try everything at least once!

OH MY GOD I AM GLAD I DID.

I got the skinny version of it in an attempt to lessen my preempted ED-induced guilt. There are some things that you just can’t feel guilty about and this is one of them. It does in fact taste like a Mounds bar.

Check out the layers!

 

Again, trying to restrain myself from making a Shrek joke about parfaits and onions. Control LaForge, have some self-control… it’s just a movie for kids, not the Bible on DVD. You don’t have to make references to it constantly!

 

Exploiting my own inner conflicts on a public blog. SMART.

 

Guess what I had for dinner…….

Yep, what we’ve got here is #4. Plain burger with a slice of swiss cheese and covered in ketchup. The rest of the plate is a forest of romaine, cucumbers, carrot sticks, some almond slices and a tiny drizzle of balsamic.

Oh baby I’m just getting started. Who knows how many more burgers await future me?!? I hope lots and lots of them.

 

And for “dessert”

Vodka Creamsicle, compliments of my mom and a premade plastic jug from Costco. She insisted I drink some and kept asking if I wanted more. I said no after this glass and she ended up drinking the majority of it. Have at it woman, you legit deserve some boozy times 😀

 

And that’s all I’ve got kids. This weekend is somewhat jam packed and includes a graduation party, a confirmation party, more running and car washing!

 

Have a fabulous night ❤

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

