Overly emotional girls are meant to be runners.

CONSISTENT. I deserve a medal for posting two days in a row. Chicka chicka yeah chicka.

As Michael Bolton would say, let’s get to it.

(Lonely Island reference…anyone? If you don’t know it, Youtube it. This is legit stuff)

Let’s talk running. Or, let me tell you a quick story about running.

Once upon a time (about 3 weeks ago) I had some boy problems. Details are unnecessary but the whole experience left my feelings were hurt and I was absolutely furious/frustrated at the world. So one night, in an overly-emotional-girl-thing induced fit I registered for the Seaside Half Marathon on October 16th, 2011.

I wasn’t really thinking and I have never run more than 10 miles at a time but KNEW I needed to do it. To be honest, self-loathing was WHOA crazy.

Personally, I’m kind of proud with myself for dealing my emotions in a healthy manner. Goodness knows I could have easily turned to, er, some not-so-healthy-former-habits.

So now I have six weeks of training to go. I’m running about 4-5 times a week along with strength training and cross-training. Anddddd there’s also the matter of my new purchase…

Well hello Sweeties.

My silly pink Nikes have been with me for a long time. They were first REAL running shoes that I received the start of my junior year at Rider. I love them dearly but 2 years with the same pair of running sneakers for a runner is basically asking for foot problems. Now that I’m training for a major race, I can’t risk that. Goodnight sweet Nikes and welcome Saucony ProGrid Ride 4

Thanks to Road Runner Sports my feets were evaluated and match with sneakers that would be most beneficial. Size 7 with a wide width please! Not to mention I may have picked up some inserts as well…

Haha, I didn’t actually want to take them OUT of my sneaker.

So far I’ve run with these 4 times since buying them and I’m definitely liking it. There’s more support with the Sauconys so I don’t get the full feeling that I’m striking the ground so hard. Also, the inserts were molded to fit my feet. I have extremely high arches and the inserts make me feel like I’m wearing sneakers that fit perfectly. Thumbs up all around!

Along with the training, I’ve also decided to really crack down on my eating habits. Since graduating I’ve been indulging a wee bit too much and just need to clean it up a bit. Vegetables ahoy and lots of ’em! No starvation, just healthy. You know how I do.

Lunch was chill

Whole wheat tortillas are a gift from Cas. The goods inside include apple slices, carrot slices, a tbsp of AB and a thin slice of swiss cheese. Don’t be fooled by how it sounds. I SWEAR this is an absolutely brilliant combo. The cheese and AB in particular go extremely well together.

Sides include more carrots, more apples, some [home garden] fresh cherry tomatoes and pretzel sticks. It was nice and fulfilling…..also, I like the way the wood photographs!

And with the running chatter out of the way, this is my current setup.

Yes, I am on the Supernatural Wiki page but I have a real reason for doing so, hence the notebook and paper located on the right. No, I can’t tell what it is because it’s still in the beginning stages. JUST TRUST ME.

The mug is protein powder, 1/2 cup frozen strawberries and water. I forgot how uninteresting protein smoothies tend to be and that’s lame because I’m going to be drinking a lot more of these….maybe I should start dressing them up in costumes. Hmmm.

And now I need to split. Running beckons me and then it’s gym time with my slister! Have a great rest of the day everyone!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

