Diglett

Things I’ve been digging lately:

  • Marking a new mile record for myself on Sunday. My training schedule said 11 miles and 11 miles is what I did. WOOOOO! The weather was perfection, brisky and not a trace of humidity.

Typical prerun food. Slice of multigrain bread with PB and banana. The fuel of champions!

I kept my pace fairly consistent most of the time from what I could tell. I stopped twice, once at mile 5 to eat a few pieces of candy corn (I NEED TO INVEST IN SOME GU!) and again at mile 9 to get some water/eat some more candy corn. It did give me the sugar rush I needed but chewing those things while still moving quickly is a nightmare. Pretty sure I looked like a moo-cow while I was eating them!

The aftermath was a little rough. Luckily my calves are now being well-behaved but my right knee is being a little funky. My mileage is low for the rest of the week (no more than 2 or 3 miles a day) so now, it’s a waiting game.

MY HALF-MARATHON IS IN 4 DAYS. OH MY GOD.


  • The upcoming ESPN body issue, ahem, for obvious reasons

Let’s take the gorgeous nakedness out of the picture for a moment, shall we? His muscle definition is incredible and if nothing else this picture proves that Apolo is one hell of a dedicated athlete. He works hard and it shows. Seriously, try following him on Twitter! He posts motivating and inspiring mantras frequently and is always keeping active 24/7. Guess I forgot to put a PG-13 disclaimer in this post?!?! WHOOPS.

  • ETSY! I’ve become a member of the Etsybloggers Street Team and am super excited to help promote other sellers! I’m going to be writing posts about Etsy and all things associated. I think I’m becoming quite obsessed loyal to the website.
  • Speaking of which, I have two new cookies up and ready for selling!

I tried very hard with the presentation for this one

So because I’m having a hard time giving up on my “catch” these are essentially Supernatural themed as well. What we have here are Demon Blood Drizzled Florentines. Florentines are brittle but develop a nice chewiness after a bit of time.

The "blood" is a combination of melted chocolate, powdered sugar and red food coloring

They’re simple to make but time-consuming. Lots of on the stove boiling and you can only bake 8 cookies while using one pan at a time. They have to be constantly watched. Kind of like babies.

 

…………not that you bake babies in the oven or anything.

 

Er, baby baking aside, these cookies are pretty perfect for Halloween. Just saying. *coughBUYMYCOOKIEScough*

  • THE RETURN OF PUMPKIN OATMEAL

Oh how I have waited for this return! Pumpkin is a little more expensive this year but my love extends far beyond the prices that THE MAN has established. A 1/3 of a cup and a couple generous shakes of cinnamon turn this into a wonderful bowl of fall goodness.

But it doesn’t stop there, when there is a LaForge, there are waffles

You know how I do. Pumpkin waffles with oats and topped with my favorite Chobani/AB mixture AND apple butter. That just might be the only thing that could possibly be more fall appropriate. Apple butter is on it’s own level. In it’s own universe. Be still my heart.

And that’s my post. I’ve got A LOT more internet stuff to take care of tomorrow so I PROMISE I’ll be back. Have a goodnight everyone!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Diglett

  1. APOLO!
    The cookies look great!

Leave a Reply

